APAP Calendar

BLOGGERS NEEDED!

Interested in sharing your opinions about progressive politics? Want to highlight the great work of local community groups and individuals? Then join our blog team. Send us an email and we can sign you up. apafp AT apaforprogress DOT org.

VC30: Watch Now!

Asian Pacific Americans for Progress proudly presents Vincent Chin 30: Standing Up Then and Now. To view the program, please come back on Saturday, June 23 at:

2:00 pm ET / 1:00 pm CT / 12:00 pm MT / 11:00 am PT / 8:00 am HT

 

For a list of participating cities, go to: www.apaforprogress.org/VC30

For more info on how to get involved with APAP, email us at apafp@apaforprogress.org

To view our award-winning documentary, "Vincent Who?," go to www.vincentwhomovie.com

 

PROGRAM SCHEDULE

2:00 pm ET/11:00 am PT - Nationwide Townhall via Google Hangout

3:00 pm ET/12:00 pm PT - Local programming

BIOS

WELCOMING REMARKS - Curtis Chin and Preeti Kulkarni, APAP Board and Producers of "Vincent Who?"

CLOSING REMARKS - Nina Ahmad, APAP Board

Zahra Billoo (San Francisco) - Labor rights advocate and executive director of the Council on American-Islamic Relations San Francisco Bay Area chapter (CAIR-SFBA). In March 2011, CAIR-SFBA filed a lawsuit against the Department of Justice challenging their warrantless use of GPS tracking devices to target American Muslims. Her work has been highlighted nationally with KTVU, NBC, CNN, MSNBC, & NPR.

Wei Chen (Philadelphia) - Wei organized a successful eight-day boycott to stop the bullying at South Philadelphia High School after 30 Asian immigrant students were violently attacked on Dec. 3, 2009. He is a cofounder of Asian Student Association of Philadelphia, which works with other youth groups on the city’s Campaign for Non-Violent Schools.

Dr. Judy Chu (Los Angeles) - Elected to the U.S. House of Representatives for California's 32nd District in July 2009, Rep. Chu is the first Chinese-American woman to serve in Congress. She was elected as Chair of the Congressional Asian Pacific American Caucus in Feb. 2011. In addition to her vote for passage of the health care reform bill, she has championed a number of causes in Congress and has used her experience as a legislator and educator to help improve our nation’s education system.

Tom Hayashi (Detroit) - Executive director of OCA, Tom has over 18 years of combined professional experience as a former health care provider/administrator, fundraising executive, educator, and community activist. He has helped further the cause of over 80 nonprofit organizations and government agencies as a consultant, staff, and volunteer.

Mia-lia Kiernan (Philadelphia) - Community organizer and co-founder of One Love Movement. Formed in response to the rise in detention and deportation of Cambodian Americans with prior criminal convictions. One Love fights unjust criminal and immigration law by engaging in community building, leadership training, advocacy and activism.

Mee Moua (Washington DC) - President and executive director of the Asian American Justice Center (AAJC). Mee leads AAJC’s efforts to promote civic engagement, forge strong and safe communities, create an inclusive society and empower Asian Americans and other underserved communities. Prior to joining AAJC, she was a three-term MN state senator, where she chaired the Senate Judiciary Committee, and had oversight of all state agencies in matter related to criminal, civil and administrative law and procedures.

Amardeep Singh (New York) - Co-founder and Director of Programs of the Sikh Coalition. Amar has represented dozens of Sikh victims of airport profiling, employment discrimination, and hate crimes since 9/11. Along with Dept. of Homeland Security officials, he helped to formulate guidelines governing the searches of Sikh passengers in U.S. airports. Amar is a member of the White House Advisory Commission on Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders.

Phil Yu (Moderator) - Founder and editor of Angry Asian Man, a popular Asian American news/culture blog. Building a steady, loyal readership since 2001, the Washington Post calls Angry Asian Man “a daily must-read for the media-savvy, socially conscious, pop-cultured Asian American.”

 

 

 

 

 

Your rating: None Average: 5 (4 votes)

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
 
  • Images can be added to this post.

More information about formatting options